2015: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.

Facepalm-Meme-Gif-08

I wish I had written this before the end of 2015, but to be honest, I dreaded writing this because 2015 was just a bad year overall.  Sure, there were some nice highlights that I savored but so much occurred that I can’t even begin to really write anything coherent but here goes.

THE BAD: Yes, I’m starting with the bad, so where the hell do I begin?  My girlfriend and I are living separately since late August given that her boss has moved to a better position, so unfortunately, she had to move with him to finish her thesis.  Yes, this is the same lady I wrote many moons ago, and yes, we are still together, but it’s been very hard to be away from her.  Daily calls & FB video chatting does help (sometimes).  However, what about the rest of the world?  From the revelations of disproportionate Police violence against African-Americans throughout U.S. cities to ISIS and even the horrors of so many mass shootings have left a bad taste in my mouth.  We started this year with stampedes in China (along with many mass casualty incidents there later on, including what happened in Tianjin) and the violence against Charlie Hebdothen we moved through with automobile emissions fraud, Trump and a massive migration crisis which requires the EU to truly search its soul in the spirit of amnesty.  I’m not even touching the tip of the iceberg, but it’s just too much.  Seriously, this was just a dismal dismal year for the world.

THE GOOD: Well, good things DID happen this year, though they were quite infrequent.  Gay marriage is finally legal throughout the U.S. of A., so that’s a good thing.  I also found this out during me and my GF’s wonderful yet short trip to NYC together for the first time, and it was a lovely time indeed!  Great food & great scenery to boot!  Speaking of my GF, me and her really had fun connecting with a Sega Genesis game that we all like to call Streets of Rage, and she’s quite good at it!  🙂  Rediscovering my love for Power Rangers was also a nice plus thanks to you Linkara, along with Seinfeld thanks to my GF’s wonderful Valentine’s Day gift.  I also finished watching Friends, a show that I’d never touch ten years ago, and it wasn’t bad at all.  Star Wars: The Force Awakens and The Hateful Eight were awesome box-office treats in 2015, but I have yet to see either Creed or Chi-Raq, but hopefully I’ll catch them on a home release.  I’ve also finally reached my 5 years at Moffitt Cancer Center, which is quite astonishing, but I’m fortunate to have a job in the first place.  However, the GOOD of 2015 would have to also relate to the Arsenal of course.  2 F.A. Cups in a row and the rise of Mesut Ozil is a welcome delight, while I am still scratching my head as to how we ever got Petr Cech because the man is a miracle worker.  Lastly, 2015 was also a banner year for APA faces on American TV while we’ve also reconnected with Cuba diplomatically.  Oh, and we SHREDDED Manchester United in both the F.A. Cup last season AND in the start of this season!!!!

THE UGLY: Jose Mourinho and his utter stupidity.  So sad to see him go because the ship was sinking over there at Stamford Bridge and I was enjoying every minute of it.  Oh, and Sepp Blatter.  The man’s a jerk so I’m very glad that the crap has hit the fan for him, along with Platini.  Also, discovering just how BAD Power Rangers Megaforce was via Linkara’s History of Power Rangers was DEFINITELY in the ugly category with SO many wasted opportunities.  That is NOT how you do an Anniversary Season for ANY TV show, PERIOD!

So that’s how I felt about 2015 in a nutshell.  Let’s forge ahead to 2016 and hope that we can reflect on it all with a much more positive light when we come to 2017.  Thank you folks, and take care.

 

One thought on “2015: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.

Leave a Reply

